The Department of Journalism organized a workshop on “The Art of Photography” on the 19th of August 2022 as part of world photography day. The resource person of the event was Deejesh Madanan a professional photographer. The session was held at 2:00 pm in St Albert’s College (Autonomous) Ernakulam. The workshop turned out to be a very lively session with relevant topics and interaction among students. The program was coordinated by Asst. Professor Meera G Nair along with the student coordinator Aiswarya Santhosh.


Albertian Media fest

The Department of Journalism organized TRIDENT 2022 Albertian Media fest, as part of the one year anniversary of Albertian News. A five day program was held from 4th-8th July 2022,  consisting of a two day national seminar followed by various competitions.

The two day national seminar was inaugurated by Shri Mecartin, script writer and director. The inaugural ceremony was held at 10am in Bernard Hall. Mecartin took a session on “Film: A Medium for Mass Communication. The next session was taken by Rev. Fr Capistan Lopez, Managing Editor Jeevanadam on “Contemporary Media: Amalgamation of Journalism and Ats. The following session was conducted by Sijo Pynadath, Editor, Deepika News Daily on “Newspaper: A Matter of Existence?”

The second day commenced with a photo exhibition at Emmanuel Hall at 9:30am inaugurated by Rev. Fr. Vincent Naduvilaprambil. The first session of the day was taken by Dr. Chandradasan, theater director and chairman Lokadharmi on the topic “Understanding the Visual Culture in the Contemporary World.”at 10am in Melano Hall. The next session was presented by Nirmal George Koshi, program head, Mirchi Kerala on “Meri Awaz Suno-Radio and Podcast.” James Arpookkara and Anilina Aju, photographers, state award winners, enlightened the students with their experiences on the topic “A Picture Speaks Thousand Words.” An award winning short film “Life is Beautiful” directed by Bhaijuraj Chekkavar was screened at Melano Hall at 2pm there after the crew of  the film shared their experiences and had an interactive session with the students.

A news anchoring competition was held on 6th July 2022 at 10am at Melano Hall, for the students of St. Albert’s College(Autonomous). Students were asked to read the news in a professional manner. Arsha Sebastian of third year B.Sc Botany  secured the first prize in malayalam news anchoring competition and Anuroopa Vincent of third year B.Sc Physics won the second prize. Twinkle S of third year B.Sc Physics secured the first prize for the english news anchoring competition and Amal Eugene of second year BBA won the second prize.

The anniversary of Albertian News was inaugurated by Sanub Sasidharan, senior content editor, at 12pm at Melano Hall. Rev.Fr John Christopher Vadaserry, registar St. Albert’s College(Autonomous), Dr. Bijoy V.M, principal, St. Albert’s College(Autonomous) and various other faculties and students were present for the anniversary celebration. The celebration concluded with a cake cutting ceremony and the launch of the new Albanian News logo and intro.

The five day Albertian Media Fest concluded with a news hunt competition for the students of the department of Journalism. Students were instructed to collect and report the news from Edapally to Marine drive. Neha Agunes of second year BA English triple main secured the first prize for English news and Amrith Barid and Sneha Ranjana of third year BA English triple main secured the first prize for Malayalam news. 


Current affair, Documentary, Film

The Department of Journalism conducted a workshop on Scriptwriting, Current affair, Documentary, Film on the 10th of March 2022. The resource person of the day was Sanub Sasidharan, head of Myfin TV (Kerala’s first integrated media for business and finance). The workshop began around 2:00 pm with the welcome speech delivered by Asst. Professor Nikitha Shaji Thomas (Head-in-Charge). The workshop was conducted successfully with an interactive session by Mr. Sanub Sasidharan and the students. The coordinators of the event were Asst. Prof. Krishnendu and Asst. Prof. Athira. The workshop came to an end with the vote of thanks by Asst. Prof. Athira.