Best Albertian Student Award Winner
Ms. Gadha V. Binoy
M.Sc. Chemistry


            St. Albert’s College, Ernakulam, established in 1946 was conferred Autonomous Status by the University Grants Commission in 2016. One of the prominent initiatives after Autonomy was the introduction of the Albertian International Educational Expo(AIEE) in January 2017. The second edition of the AIEE took place in January 2018. An uncompromising stand to provide quality education and opportunities towards holistic development of the students is the core mission of the institution. Towards attaining this objective, this academic year (2017-2018), St. Albert’s College (Autonomous) introduced the Best Students Awards aimed at recognizing the curricular, co-curricular and extra-curricular talents of the students. Best Student Award 2018 is instituted for each of the 17 Under Graduate and 12 Post Graduate programs in the institution. In addition to the above 29 Awards, a “Best Albertian Student Award 2018” will be given to the Best Student of the College for the Academic Year 2017-2018. Nominees in the above two categories will be recognized by presenting the Best Student Nominee Awards and the Best Albertian Student Nominee Awards.

            A Student Awards Committee was constituted to streamline the entire procedure and after several rounds of discussion in the Executive and Extended Executive Committees of the Autonomous Institution, criteria for qualification and guidelines for participation were set. Students qualifying to participate in the awards apply online on the Institutional Website. Evaluation of the applications resulted in the identification of the Best Students under each UG and PG streams.  The best student for each program were selected based on their performance in Academics, Organizing / Participation / in International – National – Local Conferences / Seminars / Workshops, Paper Presentations, Publications, Awards Received, Curricular Activities and Department Evaluation. Ten of the highest scoring Best student Awardees were the “Nominees” for the “Best Albertian Student Award”. Each nominee underwent two rounds of evaluation, the first being the Powerpoint Presentation and Interaction and the second the Personal Interview, aimed at identifying the “Best Albertian Student” for the academic year 2017-2018. Maximum transparency in the award process is ensured through documentary submission of the claims of all the nominees.

St. Albert’s College (Autonomous) Student Awards for the various UG/PG Courses for the academic year 2017 – 2018 were declared by Principal Dr. M L Joseph, in the Extended Executive Committee which was presided by the Chairman Rev. Fr. Antony Arackal, held on 08th March 2018.

The following students were awarded the Best Student Award for the respective programs after Phase I evaluation:

Ms. Aneeta Joseph – B.A. English, Mr. Jeevan Shah – B.Sc. Mathematics, Mr. Jithin S. Kumar – B.Sc. Chemistry, Mr. Binoy Solly – B.Sc. Industrial Chemistry, Ms. Sreelakshmi T.A. – B.Sc. Botany, Ms. Sithalakshmi S. – B.Sc. Zoology, Mr. Sidharth Sen – B.Sc. Aquaculture, Ms. Merin Thomas – B.Sc. Industrial Fish & Fisheries (SF), Ms. Neenu Anna Mathai – B.A. Economics, Ms. Nakshatra K. Anil – B.Com. Taxation, Mr. Sarat Sebastian Preetham – B.Com. Taxation (SF),  Mr. Jayakrishnan M.R. – Computer Application (SF), Ms. V.P. Deepthi – B.B.A. (SF), Ms. Karishma Ramachandran – B.Voc. Logistics Management (SF), Mr. Vijay Upendara –  B.Voc. Renewable Energy (SF), Ms. Aathira M.R. – B.Sc. Computer Science (SF), Mr.Raisun Mathew – M.A. English, Ms. Vincy Anandi J. – M.Sc. Mathematics, Ms. Megha S. Menon – M.Sc. Physics, Ms. Dency V. Panickar – M.Sc. Space Science, Ms.Gadha V. Binoy – M.Sc. Chemistry, Ms. Princy Bose – M.Sc. Botany, Ms.Sheethal S. – M.Sc. Zoology with Medical Miccrobiology (SF), Ms. Vanessa Khriem – M.Sc. Applied Fisheries & Aquaculture (SF), Ms. Judit T.R. – M.A. Economics, Ms. Bella Babu – M.Com. Financial Management, Ms. Gopu Prakash M.B.A. and Sr. Sible Rose – M.S.W. (SF).

From the Best Student Award Winners, the following ten students were shortlisted as the Best Albertian Student Award Nominees from the scores obtained in Phase I.  From the UG Programs,  Mr. Sidharth Sen – B.Sc. Aquaculture, Ms. Nakshatra K. Anil – B.Com. Taxation and Ms. V.P. Deepthi – B.B.A. (SF) where shortlisted and from the PG Programs, Ms. Vincy Anandi J. – M.Sc. Mathematics, Ms.Gadha V. Binoy – M.Sc. Chemistry, Ms.Sheethal S. – M.Sc. Zoology with Medical Microbiology (SF), Ms. Vanessa Khriem – M.Sc. Applied Fisheries & Aquaculture (SF), Ms. Bella Babu – M.Com. Financial Management, Ms. Gopu Prakash M.B.A. and Sr. Sible Rose – M.S.W. (SF), where shortlisted.

In the final round of Power Point Presentations and Face to Face, from the above ten nominees, Ms. Gadha V. Binoy of M.Sc. Chemistry was adjudged as the Best Albertian Student for 2017-18 by the Judging Committee comprising, Dr. Ajith Thomas John, Dr. Geo Jose Fernandez, Dr. J. Jameson, Dr. Vijay John Gerson, Assoc. Prof. Lawrel Gregory, Asst. Prof. Nisha Thomji Varghese, Asst. Prof. Augustine K.J., Dr. Deepthi Augustine, Dr. M. Sapna P. Miranda and Asst. Prof. Indu George.

The Student Awards Committee for 2017-2018 comprised the Principal, Dr. M.L. Joseph, IQAC Coordinator, Dr. Ajith Thomas John, DEAN AIM, Dr. Geo Jose Fernandez, Dean Reasearh, Dr. J. Jameson and Dean Students Affairs, Dr. Vijay John Gerson.